President’s Award


We are thrilled to announce Professor Judith McLean as the recipient of the 2020 Drama Australia President’s Award!

Judith McLean (Queensland University of Technology & Queensland Performing Arts Centre) has made significant, long term service and commitment to Drama and Arts Education at a state, national and international level. She is a leading force and pioneer in moving Drama Education forward. Judith has been described by colleagues as a master teacher, a dynamic scholar, a committed mentor and a wise leader in our field.

Our Drama Australia family is better because of you, Judith. Congratulations!

This is our most prestigious award with only 16 previous recipients.

It is usual that the Drama Australia President’s Award is presented when we gather as a national Drama Australia community. Unfortunately, our 2020 national conference was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, hence this announcement of the recipient of the Drama Australia President’s Award.

The recipient of a Drama Australia President’s Award demonstrates:

  • Significant, long-term service and commitment to Drama Australia (formerly NADIE) and drama/theatre education in Australia.
  • Significant service and commitment within a state/territory member association (including service on state/territory association management committees/boards and/or sub-committees).
  • A contribution to drama/theatre education at an international level.

Year         Recipient

2001        Associate Professor Kate Donelan (Drama Victoria)

2002       Dr Christine Comans (Drama Queensland)

2003       Professor John O'Toole (Drama Queensland)

2004       Dr Jennifer Simons (Drama NSW)

2005       Professor Heather Smigiel (Drama Tasmania)

2006       Professor John Carroll (Drama NSW)

2008       Ms Wendy Danforth (SAADIE - Post Humous)

2009       Associate Professor Angela O'Brien (Drama Victoria)

2011        Mr Robin Pascoe (Drama West)

2012       Professor Brad Haseman (Drama Queensland)

2013       Ms Beth Parsons (Drama Tasmania)

2015       Associate Professor Mary Mooney (Drama NSW)

2016       Mr Graham Cox (Drama South Australia)

2017       Dr Val Johnson (Drama West)

2018      Dr Jo Raphael (Drama Victoria)

2019      Dr Richard Sallis (Drama Victoria)

2020      Professor Judith McLean (Drama Queensland)